• Tigers have been divide into 8 subspecies – Indian (or Bengal), Indo-Chinese, Sumatran, Amur (or Siberian), South China, Caspian (extinct), Java (extinct), and Bali (extinct).
• All tigers have more than 100 stripes on their body but not two tigers have the same pattern of stripes.
• Tigers keep their claws sharp by keeping it inside the retractable sheath and taking it out only when required for hunting.
• A group of tigers is called a streak.
• A tiger’s roar can be heard more than a mile away.
• Tigers, Lions, Leopards and Jaguars are the only four types of cats that can roar but cannot purr.
• White Tigers are not albinos. They just do not have the orange colored genes.
• A tiger can leap as high as 10 feet in a single jump.
• A tiger walks on its toes.
• The smallest of all tiger species is the Sumatran tiger and the largest the Siberian tiger.
• The tiger hunt by hearing and sight and not by smell.
• The vision of the tiger is six times better than a human at night.
• A tiger in one sitting may eat 22 to 32 kilograms of meat but it may also go hungry for weeks.
• It takes on an average 10 to 20 attempts to catch a prey.
• Tiger cubs are born blind and weigh about 2 pounds.

About Atula Gupta

Atula Gupta is the Founder and Editor of indiasendangered.com. Her work has appeared in a number of international websites, dailies and magazines including The Wire, Deccan Herald, New Indian Express, Down to Earth and Heritage India on issues related to environment and its conservation. She is also the author of Environment Science Essentials, a set of books for school children. She hopes this website provides a platform for people to be aware about species in the verge of extinction and heighten their conservation efforts.

10 thoughts on “Interesting facts About the Tiger

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *